Gut Check

Less is more!

Does Gluten Free Alcohol Exist?

Wave graphic
Does Gluten Free Alcohol Exist?

Does Gluten Free Alcohol Exist?

So, you’re gluten-free. That doesn’t mean you can’t kick back and have a good time, though! The short answer to “Does gluten-free alcohol exist?” is yes!

Tons of hard beverages are gluten-free by default, while others are intentionally made to be gluten-free so that everyone can pop off and have a good time. You’ve got options—and we’ve got what we think is the best choice. 

She’s fizzy; she’s tart; she’s just the right amount of sweet—she’s JuneShine hard kombucha. If you’re looking for a delicious option that’s low in sugar, organic, and gluten-free, pick up a can of JuneShine!

So, what’s the tea on gluten and alcohol? You might be surprised by how many yummy options there are for gluten-free alcohol, and you might discover a new fave. 

What Is Gluten?

Before we can pick apart which alcohols are gluten-free, we have to figure out what gluten is in the first place. P.S. If you already know this stuff, feel free to skip ahead.

Gluten is the broad name given to the different proteins that are found in wheat. In general, they act as a glue to give structure to food—it’s why bread is able to be so fluffy. Unfortunately, they don’t agree particularly well with some people’s digestive systems, especially those with celiac disease. If you notice that you’ve been having, ahem, tummy troubles, it may be worth cutting gluten for a hot minute to see if it makes things any better.

Sensitivity to gluten is way more common than you’d think, but luckily, many foods and drinks are gluten-free naturally.

What Does It Mean For Something To Be Gluten-Free?

Something being gluten-free is pretty self-explanatory—there’s no gluten in it, my dude. That said, food that’s naturally gluten-free isn’t usually labeled. You’re not going to find a gluten-free sticker on an apple.

To make things easier for you, we’ve put together a cute little list of foods and drinks that do and don’t contain gluten.

Common Gluten-Containing Foods/Drinks

  • Wheat
  • Spelt
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Cereals
  • Beer
  • Cakes, cookies, and pastries

Common Gluten-Free Grains

  • Rice
  • Oats
  • Quinoa
  • Flax
  • Millet
  • Sorghum
  • Tapioca
  • Buckwheat
  • Arrowroot
  • Amaranth

Common Gluten-Free Food and Drink

  • Meat
  • Most wine
  • Fish and seafood
  • Eggs
  • Dairy products
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Legumes
  • Nuts
  • Tubers
  • Fats, such as oils and butter

The History of Alcohol

People have been kicking back and consuming alcohol since as early as 7000-6600 B.C.E. As long as humans have been around, we’ve wanted to spend time together and knock back a sweet summer sip.

From the early days of fermented rice and honey beverages all the way to modern takes on ancient drinks (hey, that’s us!), there are many ways to indulge. Some of these forms of alcohol, some don’t, but either way, they’ve been around the block a few times.

What Kinds of Alcohol Are Gluten-Free?

If you’re gluten-free, you’re in luck. More of your favorite drinks than you might think don’t have gluten hiding away in their multi-colored bottles.

Liquors like rum, made from sugar cane, tequila, made from the versatile agave plant, and brandy, a form of distilled wine, are not made with gluten. These are tried and true gluten-free alcohols, so they are safe for celiacs and others with gluten sensitivity. It doesn’t hurt to check the bottle just to be sure, but you should be good. 

Here’s where it gets a little more twisty. Liquors that are distilled from gluten-containing grains, like whiskey or bourbon, are free from gluten as well—yep! You can sip soundly on any non-flavored distilled liquor without fear of gluten. Why? Because distilling something removes the protein from it, and therefore the gluten is gone-zo.

Be Careful With Flavored Liquors

Sadly, flavored distilled alcohol may be a different story. Some artificial flavoring is derived from ingredients that contain gluten.

However, that doesn’t mean you have to compromise taste when looking for gluten-free drinks. There are a lot of different ciders, flavored liquor, hard lemonades, wines, seltzers, and even gluten-free beers that you can choose from.

Best of all, you can be gluten-free and safely enjoy a can of your new bestie, JuneShine. How does a Grapefruit Paloma sound? What about Midnight Painkiller, our take on the classic cocktail?

What Can I Drink If I’m Gluten-Free?

Looking for your latest libation? Here are our top five recommendations for gluten-free alcohol to keep your digestive system happy as well as your taste buds!

  • Hard Cider
  • Vodka
  • Hard Seltzer
  • Wine
  • Hard Kombucha

Of course we saved the best for last! It’s perfect for a summer’s day while you sip and get your probiotics in.

For a certified gluten-free option that is low in sugar, made from organic ingredients (yep, we did ALL that), check out all of our different flavors. What can we say? We brew sustainable, transparent, insanely delicious kombucha. It’s a party for your tastebuds and your tummy!

JuneShine: A Gluten-Free Game Changer 

Like we said before—you’ve got options. But if you really want a beverage that stands out from the rest for its gluten-less glory, choose JuneShine

We brew our booch with real, organic ingredients, including green tea, honey, fruit juice, spices, and a jun kombucha base. You might even call us “the champagne of kombuchas.”

Plus, we never use any of that gross stuff like artificial coloring, GMOs, pesticides, or processed corn or rice syrup. No gluten, and none of that. Just pure, delicious kombucha.

Let’s Get the Gluten-Free Party Started

Whether you like to kick back with a drink in hand once in a while, are a chef who adores sizzling up a dish with a hint of alcohol, or just want to have tasty and safe options on hand for your gluten-free friends, there is a place for gluten-free alcohol.

Now that you have a better understanding of what it means to require gluten-free food and drink, you can be sure to offer the best options at your barbecues, dinner parties, pre-games, tailgates, and everything in between! We’re here to bring the gluten-free vibes that you’ve been searching for.


Kombucha: Health benefits, risks, and how to make it at home | Medical News Today

What is Gluten? |

FODMAPs and Celiac Disease |

The Earliest Alcoholic Beverage in the World | Penn Museum